Excited and Scared...First post here

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by PayPerView, May 19, 2009.

1. Hey Guys (and girls)

I have been trading and investing (and saving) for many years. I have finally pulled the plug on my Buy and Hold financial planner last January in a once in a lifetime call that this market was going lower..By doing so, I saved myself a ton of money of course.

I have been trading more and more and have decided to transition out of my current business into full time investor/trader. I have many years of business and am comfortable with risk taking and risk management as well as understanding psychology (my own and maybe the markets...but i doubt that one!).

I have not done any particularly great trades but have managed to move in and out of cash to take advantage of buying opportunities and to limit downside.

I've been averaging 20 trades a day and got 500 free trades at Ameritrade to start.

I am opening up an account at Interactive Brokers as well.

My goals are modest (I think)...I would like to make 10-15% return annually..Like I said I am spending most of my time doing this.

I naturally gravitate towards companies I understand and can relate to.

I might want to mix up my strategies including some swing trading, perhaps some day trading as well as some portion into fixed income.

I am glad I found this forum. Looks like a great resource!

2. maxpi

maxpi

you think you are scared now, wait until you go into the Politics and Religion forum.....

3. jjf

jjf

It is Trading and Journals that will inflict the mortal wounds.

Wait until PayperView discovers some people here have more than one Username.
    jjf

4. lol...I have enough problems without getting into Politics and Religion..

But I am guilt of two usernames..the first one had a problem activating..

Now what do i do..

buy hold or sell?

or hide?

5. Welcome to the forums!