Excel vs TradeStation

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by dima777, Jul 20, 2008.

1. dima777

dima777

I am not a big expert in TradeStation programming but I find it immensely more easy, satisfying and time-saving to code and debug my strategy ideas directly in Excel than in TS (I use no VBA). I wonder if anyone has the same experience.
    Thanks

2. dima777

dima777

not a single comment?((( does not anyone use excel to code strategies?

3. You must be delusional.
    Easy Language has a whole host of features, facilities, functions, you-name-it that is lacking in Excel. Easy Language was built specifically for trading, Excel was not. It has no knowledge of "OpenPositionProfit" for instance....you must code that yourself.
    The one feature of the circular buffer in Easy Language whereby you can reference prior values of ANYTHING...indicators, functions, prices, etc. is something not easily replicated without a ton of VBA code in Excel. Oh, it can be done, but again, not easily.
    Want more examples ? How about the maxbarsback variable ? This alone took Tradestation developers a long time to get "right"...and it's a critical value for any automated system.

4. Tums

Tums

Yes... facilities is the key.

People use a platform because they don't want/need to re-invent the wheel.

5. Tums

Tums

p.s. I know 3 people who have their automated system in Excel. It can be done. It all depends on your programming expertise, and the requirement of your system. All 3 people are professional programmers, they have pushed Excel and VB* to the limit. This is not something I would suggest to anyone off the street, unless your system and/or requirement is VERY simple.

6. TraDaToR

TraDaToR

TS is more reliable IMO but excel can handle real time bid/ask quotes, TS Bid/Ask is only snapshot = useless...

7. dima777

dima777