Excel Automation

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by dima777, Jul 10, 2008.

1. dima777

dima777

Hi!
    I wonder if it is possible to RELIABLY auto-trade a strategy created in Excel. Please let me know.
    Thanks!
    Dima

2. dima777

dima777

wow..not a single opinion from so many viewers....is this so hard to automate?

3. C99

C99

(edit: the short answer is no)

There is way more money traded through excel than most here would believe. That said, I would not recommend it. DDE sucks for data, drops quotes when it gets busy. I have no experience w/ RTD, but I don't think most data providers offer RTD links anyway.
    Excel is a resource hog and using it for realtime trading is pushing it way beyond what it was meant to do. Once you start moving into activeX and VBA you may as well drop excel anyway.

Use it to prototype. If you can take a fully working excel strategy to a programmer the cost to have it converted to C# or C++ would be minimal. Programming messes arise because most clients do not really know what they want, or what they want changes as they go. scope creep. A clearly defined project should be fairly easy. neoticker, ninjatrader, open quant are all worth a look as platforms to build upon.

4. dima777

dima777

thanks...what about converting excel prototype into tradestation code? is this as easy to do as with c++ conversion? btw...can you please tell me where you got the info on the amount of money traded with excel...i am going to use excel as a proto tool because coding my ideas in tradestation is beyond my abilities right now....thanks again!

5. dima777

dima777

one more short question - if my strategy is wholly formula based - no vba - can it improve the speed of the execution?

6. maxdama

maxdama

dima777,

1) The money traded through excel is with heavily extended versions (i.e. plug-ins).

2) The problem is not VBA, it's that excel was not built for either internet connectivity nor rapid refreshing.

Regards,
    Max Dama