EW queries

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by buglepong, Aug 4, 2006.

1. buglepong

buglepong

I am studying EW theory but I see inconsistencies in the logic.

How do corrections fall into a 3-3-5 or 3-3-3-3-3 pattern when hypothetically a correction should follow an impulse? Sometimes this would result in two impulses in succession of different waves one degree larger. However, two corrections of same degree should never occur consecutively (it would destroy the Fib sequence).

I am also curious as to the methodology Elliot used to produce his principle. What did he base some of the rules on (like wave 4 doesn't pass wave 1 etc)?

Anyone that has come across good material (technical) that elaborates on his process please share.

Any help would be appreciated.

2. A 3-3-5 is what may also be called a "flat" ABC correction. You can have a 3-3-5 followed by an "X" and then another 3-3-5 OR 5-3-5 but never 3-3-3-3-3. It's simple yet complicated. Hindsight makes it perfect, usually.

3. buglepong

buglepong

In Elliot Wave Principle expanded ed. by A J Frost and R Prechter it calls a 3-3-3-3-3 correction a horizontal triangle.

I know what the book says. I just wanna know how it's supposed to fit into a fib sequence.

4. colion

colion

EW evolved empirically based on observation by Elliott of market action. In "Dynamic Trading" by Miner, the path taken by Elliott is outlined with reference to various publications by Elliott's from "day one." If you are looking for an underlying hypothesis for EW, Plummer took a stab at it in "Forecasting Financial Markets."