Ever feel like giving up?

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by John9999, Feb 22, 2018.

1. John9999

John9999

This is one of those times when I totally question this whole thing. Trading is by far the hardest thing I’ve ever tackled. And you gotta fail your way to success. I’m having a crappy run right now. I start to question it all and look for a new strategy,etc. I have been a successful trader before.

So when this occurs. How do you get your confidence back and keep going ?

2. you gotta have 100% confidence theoretically and empirically in your strategy

3. What about figuratively?

4. niko79542

niko79542

Hey John. You started the "transitioning to full time" thread only weeks ago. My instinct is to tell you that are thinking at a rate of a mile a minute. Slow things down by a factor of 100x, whether it be frequency of trading or position size.

edit: I must be dreaming. It was 3 days ago?????

Handle123 and comagnum like this.
  5. If you have no trading game plan, and skill, and experience and wisdom...then your lack of confidence is completely valid.
    You will easily be shaken to your core, every waking moment in the market.

Trading is extremely difficult for alot of people because the market is dynamic...not many people can easily accept and cope with that.
    Most trades or endeavors in life...have an ultimate, fixed, square end goal and process -- each time, it's the same road.

You can read 100 trading books...all of that collective wisdom will work, or may not work, completely dynamically each trade, for each person. -- Given a number of variables.
    What's important is how you perform overall in the end.

It's important you have backbone, and something Real within you.
    You have to ultimately play the role of the Hero, when you trade and engage in this endeavor.
    There will be trials and tribulations along the way. Alot of them. Everything is your judgement call, every waking dynamic moment in the market.