Eurodollar Futures Contracts

Discussion in 'Financial Futures' started by PSeeballack, Mar 22, 2019.

1. Hi everyone

I am looking at Eurodollar Futures contracts and was wondering how to build series ED1 up to say ED20.
    Let's assume I have data from 01-01-2004.

My understanding is that:

1. ED1 - perpetual front-month contract; i.e. I rollover March, June, September and December contracts
    2. ED2 - means it is 2 quarters out; thus I am assuming I roll-over June to December contracts
    3. ED 4- that would a be contract that is 4 quarters out; i.e. roll-over December contracts

What about ED3, ED5 etc?

I mean ED3 is a contract that expires in 9-months and ED5 would be expiring in 15-months. How do I build these series?

I am sorry if I sound stupid but I'm fairly new to these definitions of ED1...ED20 etc. I want to build a series so I can test some financial models I am working on.

Thanks for any help provided.

PS
    I am a fairly new academic...n not into trading!

2. H2O

H2O

ED1 is a notification for the front month contract. So assuming a simple scenario where there are only 4 expiration months H (march), M (june), U (september) and Z (december), as long as H is the first contract to expire (depends on the underlying, but lets assume around mid march) this contract (H) is ED1. After the H expiration, the M contract becomes the first to expire, making this ED1 until we roll into the U contract etc. In other words, if you have 'longer term' ED1 data, you are already looking at a 'constructed' series (continuous data).

The same goes for ED2, which is always the 2nd next contract to expire etc.

Note, when looking at continuous data it is important to understand how / when the contracts are rolled to create the continuous contract and how historical contracts are adjusted.

I hope this clarifies.

3. Handle123

Handle123