EUR/JPY Evening Trader

Discussion in 'Forex' started by TraderGreg, Sep 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Welcome to my thread. I am going to attempt to put my trading reflections and and critiques in this thread as much as I can, as I have a trading journal I do not write in, a reflection document I only type in sometimes, and a trade-by-trade journal I get lazy with as I fall 10 trades behind in the trading day. I also need to fine tune things such as my patience and certain key elements I will go into further detail in another post.

Here's a bit of background:

I am currently a college student, and I have been studying the markets in-depth for about 8 months. This resulted in 30+ hours a week early, but unfortunately only about 10 so far in college. I am in my sixth week paper trading forex, during which time I have moved from longer intraday and swing plays down to what I like to call sharpshooting (I don't think I made this name up, but I like it), which is basically pin-pointing the point of larger intraday moves, or at least a few here and there I can catch.

A bit more to the point: due to obvious college scheduling problems, London and early American hours are practically untradable for me (definitely not a morning person at all...), as I am on the East Coast. However, a bit of research revealed that the EUR/JPY has good movement consistently between 6:30 and 10:30 p.m, and a fairly impressive spread along with it. I have been trying to trade or do trading work (such as studying charts, watching a trading session instead of trading, etc.) about 10 hours per week. I try to make my trading sessions on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday, but with Monday night football I will do my best.

Although I do have a few records of my profitability (so far slightly below b/e sharpshooting) and some reflections I would like to put on here, in the interest of time I will have to to this much later. 8 ams start in about 7 hours...