ETF iShares FTSE Gilts UK 0-5 (IGLS)

Discussion in 'ETFs' started by shortbleu, Aug 31, 2010.

1. I am a UK resident looking to invest in an asset almost as liquid as cash while keeping a low risk profile and having a better return than cash.

Here in the UK, the best easy access savings accounts have returns of 2.75%.
    3-year fixed term bonds can return about 4% but the money needs to be locked away for 3 three years and you cannot access your money during that time.
    I am not willing to have my money locked away for more than a couple of months.

I found this tracker from Ishare:
    ETF iShares FTSE Gilts UK 0-5 (IGLS)
    http://uk.ishares.com/en/rc/funds/IGLS
    It is invested in UK government bonds GILTS, so I understand it has a lower risk profile than corporate bonds or equities. As this is an ETF, this is very liquid investment that I could sell back at anytime to get my money back if I need it.

This ETF has averaged about 4% a year and hopefully should continue to outperform cash returns.

Questions:
    1) Do you agree that on average and over several years this ETF should outperform the cash?

2) Can you confirm this is very low risk and that I am unlikely to lose more than 5% at any one time?

Thanks

2. 1) No
    2) No

Would you like me to elaborate?

3. yes please

4. 1) When you buy this ETF, you're effectively buying a UK govt bond with a particular maturity (equal to the current duration of the relevant index), probably arnd 3yrs. Given the duration of the index, you'll be buying this theoretical bond at a yied of arnd 0.75%. That's, essentially, your annual return, all else being equal. The 4% return you were seeing before was due to the flight-to-quality into gilts, so you should only expect similar performance if you think UK is not OK.