eSignal vs TradeStation: Pros and Cons?

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by davez, Jan 15, 2006.

1. davez

davez

I have been using eSignal for three years, but am debating whether to switch to TradeStation (TS). I am a Nasdaq stock day trader only (not futures or options or FX or foreign markets), and haven't held overnite for years. And though I will consider others, I typically trade a group of ~200 stocks (the biggies in each sector). So ideally I want to know when my preferred trade setups occur for each of these stocks.

eSignal EFS's can do just about anything I think, but I have multi-grey hairs still trying to learn it. And even if I did know it, I can't apply those EFS's to 200 stocks - I don't have 20 monitors!

In order to watch many stocks at once, I am considering TradeStation to get:
    1. Radarscreen: where with much fewer monitors I can watch many more stocks for my trade setups.
    2. Workspaces: so I can easily view many stocks (one workspace per sector)

Other advantages I think TS has are:
    3. Multi-threaded program design: which I believe makes better use of HT or dual processors
    4. 60 minute charts that stop at 4:00 est (i.e that don't include the next 30 minutes of aftermarket trading)
    5. High/Low Price Alerts that recognize current premarket prices (vs triggering on yesterday's close)
    6. Ability to view intraday charts split adjusted
    7. TS's EasyLanguage much easier I think (and just as powerful?) as eSignal EFS, (so consequently TS backtesting is better?)
    8. Integrated ECN books
    9. Free telephone tech support?

Disadvatages to TS:
    a) doesn't have intraday global high/low alerts, (though possibly programmable in Radarscreen?).
    b) no free demo (I don't consider having to open and fund an account just to try the software as free).
    c) Must open TS trade account