ESignal v. RealTick

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by cwb1014, Jul 24, 2002.

1. cwb1014

cwb1014

Hello. I'm new to trading and am trying to decide between ESignal and RealTick as my decision support software. I'd very much appreciate any comments from anyone who has experience with both packages as to the relative merits of each.

Many thanks in advance for whatever assistance you may be able to provide.

:cool:

2. Esignal has some great new software. However, it has had a problem with data freezing in the new release. The problem has been going on for months now and they have not been able to fix it. I have used both Realtick and eSignal at this point I would go with Realtick. It appears that eSignal may need more time to get their problems solved. When trading you have go to have solid data.

3. I have used qcharts, esignal, the late lamented quicken quotes and realtick. I honestly believe anything other than realtick is merely a toy if you're doing serious daytrading. Otherwise it probably doesn't matter. Realtick allows you to do so much more. Heck, their manual is like 350 pages, and that doesn't tell all of the neat little tricks.

4. I have working with many packages, and presently I have a preference for eSignal because it is more reliable than other, specially RT!

Advantage for eSignal
    very reliable signal in fast market (important if you daytrade), have now a programming language inside their package, can plot post and premarket, basic fee not too high, fast Level 2 and T&S over competitor, also very quick for to switch from one symbol at another.

Disadvantge for eSignal
    virtual no possibility to use external programming laguage, a limitation on the number of symbols, historic data limited (but should be corrected in near time), badtick filter is limited.

Advantage