ES TRADERS: Interested In Tick Size Change?

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by julian0625, Apr 9, 2011.

Should the CME Change The S&P 500 EMINI Tick Size to Dimes Like the Pit Contract?

1. Yes!

27 vote(s)
    61.4%
  2. No.

17 vote(s)
    38.6%
  1. I started trading the ES back in the early 2009 era, coming out of the decline of 08'. Back then, the S&P emini was still very volatile, and it was normally moving through ticks and levels very quickly.

However, as volatility has declined, the ranges in the S&P emini have also contracted, making it hard to move through bids and offers because of the HUGE liquidity the emini has. This makes it harder for breakouts to happen, and allows for more frequent stop runs.

Now, I LOVE trading the ES, but on days of low volume like last week, the ES just feels like it is wading slowly through a huge puddle of mud...

The s&p pit traded contract trades in dimes (0.10, or 10 ticks a point). And therefore as much larger ranges in terms of ticks.

So my suggestion is I guess, why don't we change the emini's tick size to 0.10 like the pit traded contract? We would see more volatility, and better price discovery!

This would also allow for better spreading between the NQ and YM because of the similar tick sizes, bringing more volume into those contracts as well!

The s&p emini has enough liquidity to transition to a different tick size, and I think it would bring benefit to the exchange, volume wise, as more speculators would play the market, as more volatility would be created.

So all you ES traders! What do you think? Remember, the NQ tick size used to be halves, but because of CUSTOMER DEMAND, they changed it to quarters.

If traders are for this, we could create a petition of sorts and potentially change the emini for the better!!!

Post your thoughts and vote!

2. Would love to see something happen to where the effective spread between bid and ask on the ES is the equivalent of the .01 bid-ask spread on the SPY.