es profit on 1/4 point can it be done?

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by saxon22, Oct 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Would it be possible to make a profit by scalping 1/4 of a point on ES??
    Since 1/4 is $12 less $ 5 fees, that would still leave $7 on the table. Can it be done?:confused:

2. Maybe the better question is, "why limit yourself so minutely?"

It's a whole lot easier to pick off +2pts or greater than it is to profit from .25 moves, unless your win rate is 90+%

3. I doubt that it is easier to catch the market like ES for 2 points (than again I am new to this thing so feel free to stomp me). However, it seems to me that having the market move 1/4 happens more frequently and therefore it would be easier to achieve a fill. I would rather get 10 fills for 1/4 points than wait for that 2 point set up that might or might NOT come my way. :( ) Anyway, can it be done at a profit?:confused:

4. saxon - sure it can be done. You may need an automated strategy to do it, but it could be done.

Like austin I would rather go for a larger move and trade less, but to each his own. There's plenty of liquidity there for you to scalp .25 all day. And if you trade all day you'll get a great commission deal eventually with the amount of trading you'll be doing.

5. I was thinking that eventually going for 100 to 200 contracts per trade I could wrestle a nice amount from the market at the end of the day. Correct my math, but according to my calculations 1/4 = $12, less $5 fees = $7 multiplied by 100 contracts would produce $700 a fill. If I coulf do it 10 times a day the end result would be a tidy sum.
    While I would love to get 2 o 3 point fills, I would rather pick the market "my way", that is in little bites but frequently. Call me greedy ...less:D . Please fell free to comment on my approach.:)

6. Now doing it with 200 contracts .... that is greedy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!