ES or NQ ?

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by futurecurrents, Dec 5, 2002.

1. I'm just starting out in futures. I'm wondering why it seems everyone trades the ES instead of the NQ. Is it because of the higher volatility? I'm designing a system and I'd like to know where I should put my efforts.

And it seems a little scary to have so much leverage and being in control(I hope) of so much money. Stops will be placed upon entry, but is there something else I should worry about, like a psycho spike from hell that take away a months winnings. I plan on entering with limits and exiting with market orders, five point profit and stop loss.

"When I feel my head start to swell, I look at Ringo and know perfectly well we're not supermen."
    - John Lennon

2. cheeks

cheeks

No. NQ is more volatile than ES. ES does have a higher daily dollar range.

3. Yeah that's what I meant. That's interesting that ES has a higher daily dollar range. I would have thought it was the other way around.

"Reality is an illusion that occurs due to lack of alcohol."
    - unknown

4. I don't understand exactly what you mean by daily dollar range. The volatility of the NQ is higher than the ES, however the contract multiplier of the ES is higher. Even though the ES multiplier is higher, the NQ is still more volatile even when this is included in the calculation. Meaning that the NQ is more volatile on a point AND dollar basis.

5. Oh, forgot to mention that the ES has higher liquidity.

6. cheeks

cheeks

Not exactly, let me show you what I mean.

NQ had a range of 36 points today(1087.50-1051.50). Thus a dollar range of $720(36 multipied by $20).

ES had a range of 21 points(926.25-905.25). Thus a dollar range of $1050(21 multiplied by $50).

See what I mean?