ES benchmarks

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by vanilla2, May 6, 2003.

1. I have just started trading ES, and would like to know how many points (per contract) most of us expect to make in a day, regardless of style or strategy. If you trade a longer timeframe, I guess I'm wondering what you're making, averaged per day. This is not intended to be a "how much can you benchpress dude" type of question. I'm simply looking for a benchmark from my peers, to get an idea of what's possible, or typical. Are we talking 2-5 points, 5-10, 10-20, or more?

Sorry if this thread is majorly redundant. I would guess this has been discussed many times, but I couldn't find the thread.

Thanks

2. JT47319

JT47319

Try not to lose a net point on the first day. Then try not to lose a point net commissions in the first week.

Then work your way up.

3. I've been trading the ES only a for a few months and I don't get to do it 100% of the time. I mainly trade off the price and volume, s&r, and patterns. My trades can be anywhere from 10 minutes to all day, typically only 1-5 trades per day. I don't do overnight. I'm the "slow and steady" type.

I'm averaging about 2.5 points a day per contract. It's not much at one contract, but I plan to up the contracts as my account grows.

It's hard to keep your "average" up there. Last week I had a couple of 10 point days, but then I came right back and had a couple of -5 point days and a wash day, so I was at 2 pts average for the week.

One thing that has really helped me is to set my own circuit breaker. If I go down 5 pts per contract in a day I shut it down. There are just some days I can't do anything right. The breaker keeps me from ruining my whole week (or month). I have a similar plan in place for weekly and monthly losses.

Good luck. I enjoy the ES 100 times over stocks.

4. exce26

exce26

After -5pt down, my computer automatically explore....That way we never loose further....
    :D