ES and NQ: Volume on the Bid and Ask

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by demonet, Oct 29, 2003.

1. demonet

demonet

I have a question that maybe some of you could help me with. I recently started trading ES and am progressing to my satisfaction. Although I am comfortable with my current skill level and my progress, I still have some nagging questions.

My question, as this thread would indicate, pertains to the respective volume of the inside bid/ask in TOS. Though, I have read other threads here on tape reading, I still am a bit unclear.

I understand the rudimentary level relationship between price and volume, i.e. price action and volume interact to predict the likelihood of a current price move's duration. As an analogy, volume is the motor which gives the movement to price and increases price strength....a price move up or down together with higher than normal volume would indicate the move has strength and may continue. This because investors are showing conviction behind increasing levels of buying or selling. So far, so good....

But do the various volumes shown in TOS -- or in the "market pressure" indicator in Buttontrader -- mean anything more than there is a bullish or bearish pull toward the side with the higher volume, e.g. if the bid volume is slightly higher then the ask volume, the current price trend has a bullish bias?

Buttontrader spends a lot of lines of code showing the user a graphical representation of the volume (either cumulative or on average) of the 5 best bids and asks, and so I was wondering if all these bells and whistles were telling me something I was missing....

Thanks.

2. I hope a lot of people fill in this thread.

Think about the other side of the coin too. The analogy of volume as a set of brakes.

With the motor and brakes you can go anywhere. You will see that at least 10 people here really nailed today. They are keenly aware of the two roles volume plays. The T&S is extremely helpful in this regard.