Entries only – thank you.

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by Gary Fox, Sep 22, 2007.

1. Gary Fox

Gary Fox

Greenhorn backtester here.

I’m following the recommendation of Chuck Le Beau from his book "Technical Traders Guide to Computer Analysis of the Futures Markets" and testing entries that have an exit x days from entry. He suggests that the winners be greater than 55% before employing exit strategies. I like this basic starting point so that is what I’m doing.

I work for a living and can only study the market in the evening and weekends, and therefore I’m totally end of day data based.

I’ve been testing entries and a hold for 2, 5, 10, 15 and 20 day periods.

My background is point and figure charts, and I cut my teeth always purchasing on pullbacks. So, pullbacks are what I have been primarily testing to date.

Here is my hoped for discussion. Entries, entries and more entries with holds from 1 day to whenever we get taken out. Can they be discussed without disclosing your edge? If they can’t, then this will be just another quickly dead thread.

I’m wondering if your entries are primarily based on pullbacks, breakouts or are they about even? Do you concentrate on patterns, indicators, or a combination of the two? (The vast majority of my entries so far have been based on patterns. I am doing poorly.)

Okay, I just typed the above, and just before hitting the go button, the little voice said, “What the hell are you doing? If you knew backtesting jack crap would you help this internet land neebie?” I said (I talk to myself all the time) “Yes, if I could do so without disclosing any edges, but perhaps leading him to do his own research and find success, I would”.

Well there you go …

Gary Fox

2. MGJ

MGJ