emini S&P Advice

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by mimiavalon, Aug 1, 2013.

1. Hopefully I'm not going into uncharted territory, as I see there are not many advice threads on this website.

I'm a high school student and I plan to trade for a living (and then move on to real estate and a car wash). I do not plan on going to college because there's nothing I'm interested in other than trading. I plan to treat educating myself about trading like one would in a college. My father started an a trading account over 10 years ago with his friend and he got cocky and ended up blowing their account. About 2 years ago he started another account paper trading for awhile then live trading. He's been teaching me so much and I'm really fascinated with trading. He cannot teach me as much as I'd like because he works nights and after he trades he usually goes to sleep. I really want a mentor because I want to do this for the rest of my life but, from what I researched a lot of the mentors are expensive and their reputability is constantly challenged.

I know I can read as many books as I'd like but that my real knowledge will come from consistently trading. But for now I'm looking for any advice and things to do until that point. Right now all I really know about is the emini S&P but I also want to learn about other markets and trade those too.

Thanks for your time :) :)

2. wrbtrader

wrbtrader

There are several dozen Universities across the U.S. and a few in Europe that offer classes in trading. In addition, most of these Universities have real trading rooms for their students. Simply, I highly recommend you go to college that offers trading classes, degrees and trading rooms if trading truly is your interest.

These past threads should help you with the list of many universities.

http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&postid=2991209

http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=217485