eMesa system

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by swtrader, Jun 3, 2003.

1. Got an e-mail from e-signal for emesa (so much for the e-everything era dieing)

looks like it has potential, but could be snake oil too

anyone else look at it, or care to read the link below and post their thoughts?

any thoughts on mesa systems (add on stuff for e-signal) stuff in general?

http://www.mesa-systems.com/emesa.htm

2. The guy behind MESA has been around a long time and has several systems that were highly rated by FuturesTruth, for what it's worth. He's written numerous articles in TASC. Basically he uses signal processing algorithms to extract cyclic components from prices. I've never used any of his stuff and have no idea if it works.

3. swtrader:
    I looked into the Mesa Software programs and as much as was possible, into the concept behind "MESA". To put this in perspective, I am a mechanical engineer, and so my background is strong math, but not especially strong with maximum entropy spectral analysis. I found that the concept has validity, and the tests seem to show reasonable profitability, but when you try to trade it the drawdown will put you under pressure at times. The developer (John Ehlers) says from the start that you need to be adequately capitalized and disciplined (meaning you take every trade and "live through" the drawdowns). In my opinion, the guy is honest and seems to represent the program accurately. Based on what I have learned to date, I would rather take the time to develop my own system. Hope this helps. Steve46

4. bhale

bhale

I purchased his tradestation indicators, and for what I can see or tell or backtest, they are absolutely worthless

5. Maybe you just don't know how to use or apply the indicators?? Like said before - You might have to sit through drawdowns etc. and you should be able to understand what the indicators do.