Effect of daily VOLUME on YM behaviour..

Discussion in 'Trading' started by T.A.P, Feb 5, 2007.

1. T.A.P

T.A.P

IM TRYING AGAIN WITH THIS THREAD. I STUFFED UP THE TITLE, ETC.... LONG DAY..

I am relatively new to YM day-trading but am starting to see decent results. However I have noticed that I have trouble on low volume days - such as today.

Hope this isnt too "Trading 101" but could anyone please confirm or deny my following suspicions on the effects of volume.

When daily volumes are low:-

* The market will be "choppy" and more unpredictable.
    * Hard to determine the medium term trend.
    * Pivots, support and resistance lines wont be "respected".
    * Its a good day to stay out of the market.

Thanks much... appreciate any feedback.

2. *Market maybe choppy but, more predictable because there's less traders. Therefore, it's generally low volatility, and less risk within well defined areas. Small money can't move big money markets. And big money, needs a lot of small money players to take advantage of so to speak. (hope that makes sense to you)

*Hard to determine medium term trend..
    Possibly, of course the phrase "medium term trend" is subjective, so I guess it depends on your time frame and market in which you trade.

*Pivots, support and resistance lines won't be "respected"..
    Again, subjective because your lines of S/R maybe different than mine. However, once S/R is established, those points are more reliable because there are less traders. People are creatures of habit so everyone will look to buy and sell at the general areas of interest. These traders will stay "within the lines' so to speak until a big player decides to break through.

*It's a good day to stay out of the market.
    Well, assuming you like "FAST MONEY" then yes stay out..These type of markets will bore you. If your a trend following trader then yes again stay out. because these markets go nowhere.