Educational Advice, Please

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by kmiklas, Aug 12, 2016.

1. kmiklas

kmiklas

Dear All,

I've been trading full-time for a few months now, and I like it. I dove in with decades of tech experience, which is serving me well. I've been able to profit by carefully evaluating and picking tech winners; however, the minute I leave my happy little tech world, I get crushed.

The problem is that I don't have much formal education in the business, and find myself lost in many financial and economic discussions. What does a P/E ratio mean? How is the VIX linked to the S&P? What are swaps? How do futures work? What's the difference among stocks, bonds, and commodities? Why does everyone have a strong opinion about Forex? How is margin calculated? I have so many questions.

I really want to learn the fundamentals. Whether it's financial analysis, computer programming, or my tennis game, I appreciate fundamentals. I need to get smarter. Where do I start to learn the basics of this business?

Where's a good starting point to learn the fundamentals? My own ideas are:
    1. Books. A friend recommended "Paul Wilmott Introduces Quantitative Finance." Any others?
    2. YouTube. Search around and take what's there.
    3. Lynda.com. They offer some online courses, and for $25 per month, the price is nice.
    4. Formal (Classroom) education. I am fortunate enough to live near NYC, and have taken professional development courses there. Perhaps a course like this?
    https://www.sps.nyu.edu/professional-pathways/courses/FINA1-CE9000-introduction-to-the-markets.html

Any "forward guidance" would be appreciated. :D

Thank you for your help.

Sincerely,
    Keith

murray t turtle likes this.
  2. just21

just21

Just google and read. I spend about 10 hours a day reading on the internet.

Handle123 and kmiklas like this.
  3. Handle123

Handle123