Economics for graduate school- NO Economics background?

Discussion in 'Economics' started by AndrewSears, Jan 7, 2013.

1. I'm going to hopefully graduate next Fall with a B.S. in Applied Mathematics, and I'm really interested in going to graduate school for economics- specifically financial engineering. I want to be a quantitative analyst or someone that can use simulated models to predict markets to the best of their ability, curve fitting, etc.

I have no economics background, but I've taken a lot of rigorous applied mathematics courses. In my partial differential equations class, we've done some black-scholes, but that's about it in terms of how much economics I know.

I know a lot of programming languages as well, C++, Java, Visual Basic, Ada, Python, and Fortran.

I'm going to have a lot of free time from here until next December, so I could read a lot, I guess? All I have left to take are:

-Non-Euclidean Geometry
    -Analysis II
    -Stochastic Modeling & Statistics
    -Two Spoken languages (Probably will do Latin or Greek, really interested)
    -Numerical Analysis II
    -Algorithm Theory
    -Technical Writing

So just four next semester and four during my last semester.

I was thinking of applying to MIT Sloan or Stanford. Any advice or recommendations?

If this doesn't work out, I'm probably going to graduate school for Physics or the US Navy as a Mathematician.

2. piezoe

piezoe

There are virtually no jobs for Ph.D. economists right now. Something to think about. Perhaps Finance is a little better as far as opportunities. If you are going to graduate school you have to be thinking 4 to 5 years ahead. Excellent background by the way (foreign language in your curricula tells me you are in a first rate program). The opportunities will be there for you, but probably not in economics.

Best of luck to you in your studies.