Economic development & Social Sector Development

Discussion in 'Economics' started by theblindedwoman, Mar 23, 2012.

1. Hi everyone, I'm Jasmin from UEA, UK. I'm an undergraduate student majoring in Econ and my professor asked me to write a paper on "Economic development not dependent on social sector development", I was thinking about the social development taken place in Africa such as South Africa where the social development has failed to stop ppl from infecting with AIDS, and as well as the economic failure in Zimbabwe. Any examples you guys can think of ? Any suggestions on how I should approach this topic? Thanks in advance !

Jasmin

P.S. that's me in the attachment, hope it'll freshen your mind abit !

2. No such thing.

To wit:

"We are doing God's work"

WWLD

What would Lloyd Do?

The end.

Thank you!

:cool:

:D

3. I'm a bit confused. Are you writing a paper about economic development and how it has not helped people socially?

If that is the case you would be wise to look into gentrification. When middle class developers build a place up and move poorer people out of the area creating more poverty in the process. This would indicate economic development can create problems rather than solve them in certain situations. A good example of that is places like Nottinghill in london or soho in New York, or the Meat Packing District.

Was that helpful?

Thanks for the picture.

4. no, theory is, without social delvelopment there can be no economic developement.

They've studied this quite a bit in the field of health. When they get right down to the nitty gritty it is almost impssible to tell if certain diseases were wiped out by medicine or just eliminated from a higher standard of living (usually clean water.)

kind of a trick chicken first or egg question

Do you know of any poor people that became rich without social developement?