Eco news and E-minis

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by arzoo, Apr 2, 2003.

1. arzoo

arzoo

I'm still new to e-minis, though I've noticed that there are some economic news that come out at 10am that do affect the e-mini movement, and others that are just brushed aside (whether the results are above or below expectations).

Which of these are considered market moving and which arent?

Thanks.

2. Well Arzoo since the e-minis trade from chicago...I guess you mean 10:00 am cst.

Michael B.

3. Ebo

Ebo

He means EST.
    As in NEW YORK.
    He is also clearly a little wet behind the ears.
    This may help........Until The War is over these numbers are MEANINGLESS!!! Check Briefing .com for calendar

Calendars:
    Economic Calendar

Week of 2003/03/30-2003/04/05
    Consensus - Prior - Revised

2003/04/03 08:30:01 Initial Claims 03/29 415K 410K 402K
    2003/04/03 10:00:01 ISM Services Mar 53.0 52.5 53.9
    2003/04/04 08:30:01 Nonfarm Payrolls Mar -75K -40K 308K
    2003/04/04 08:30:01 Unemployment Rate Mar 5.9% 5.9% 5.8%
    2003/04/04 08:30:01 Hourly Earnings Mar 0.3% 0.2% 0.7%
    2003/04/04 08:30:01 Average Workweek Mar 34.2 34.2 34.1

4. Can you give some examples of the ones you notice that do affect the emini movement...

along with examples of key economic reports that are brushed aside?

My point is this...when you notice a report that had impact one particular week and no impact on prices another particular week...

there's a very good chance that the market is reacting to something much more bigger than that particular report.

Further, if you don't notice or don't know what the bigger event is...

could be a sign that your not in touch with things....

or you could be making a mistake by ignoring the impact of other news events that has nothing to do with the economy.

NihabaAshi

5. Woody

Woody