ECN Fees

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by bjb1963, Apr 30, 2003.

1. bjb1963

bjb1963

I am new to using ECN's for listed trading and have a question. I am being charged and extra .005 for INCA and .0045 for ARCA. Is this right? Seems off to me.

2. EricP

EricP

I'm not sure what you would mean by 'right', but the following is the deal that your broker dealer gets with ARCA:

Add liquidity: Rebate of 0.2 cents per share (cps)
    Remove ARCA liquidity: Fee of 0.3 cps
    ARCA order routed outside ARCA for execution: Fee of 0.4 cps

For INCA, I'm not sure if they've implemented the external routing engine yet. However, for all internally filled orders, the broker dealer fee schedule is as follows:

Add liquidity: Rebate of 0.2 cps
    Remove liquidity: Fee of 0.3 cps

For clarification of a few terms. Adding liquidity is when you post a non-marketable order onto the book of the ECN. This adds liquidity (adds an order to the ECN limit order book). Since ECN's want the best and most liquid limit order book to draw additional order flow and volume, they are willing to PAY clients who place and are executed on these orders that add liquidity.

On the other hand, if there is an existing order on the ECN book to sell WXYZ at 20.10, and you are willing to buy at this price, then your order will be instantly filled against the existing order on the book. Your order has filled those shares, and thus, removed liquidity from the ECN book. As a result, this order will be charged for the execution.

I hope this is clear. To answer your question of whether your ECN fee schedule is 'right'... Broker dealers are free to charge whatever ECN charges they wish. Some will go with a flat rate fee schedule, with no additional markups for ECN fees (IB, for example). Others, will offer very low commission rates and pump up income with higher ECN fees, etc.