ECN Credit

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by SimpleTrades, Feb 26, 2011.

1. Apparently, transactions which increase liquidity provide a credit. Clearly, this is an opportunity for profit.

To minimize risk, you ideally either want to use a very stable individual stock, or a basket of stocks that together cancel out each other's change in price (negatively correlated). A basket of stocks is harder to manage, but provides more ECN credits per basket transaction.

What group of stocks on the NYSE, or Nasdaq, would you select that you would expect to be negatively correlated? I'd prefer fairly liquid stocks priced between $4 and $10. Also, not too many stocks; hard to manage many at the same time in day trading. Also, I am limited to $9900 of capital. 5 minute timer comes on if loss exceeds $50. I am knocked out for the day, if my loss isn't brought below $50 in the 5 minute period.

I'm new to trading. Currently, I am just experimenting. My boss encourages this. When I explained this idea to him he told me about "batch" trading.

2. Occam

Occam

Maybe, maybe not. Tradeworx claims, if I remember correctly, that the cost of adverse selection for liq adding orders on such ECN's now equals the gain on the liquidity rebate, on average and for each such ECN individually. Find the papers on it -- it's a lot less clear than it may first appear.

3. Thanks. I'll try to find the papers.

4. What does your firm charge for commission ?

how many dollars per 1000 shares

5. It depends on the type of order and which ECN I direct it through. I have a pile of choices. Some of the guys I work with manage to finish the day having paid no fees, and have actually received a few dollars of credit trading one stock. Now, using that logic, if I traded multiple stocks simultaneously, this credit would add up very quickly.

"how many dollars per 1000 shares"

pennies not dollars. As I said above, there is no straight answer to your question.