Earnings Plays?

Discussion in 'Options' started by tj1320, Apr 20, 2006.

1. tj1320

tj1320

I'm still learning about option strategies so please pardon my lack of knowledge. I've been thinking about earnings plays for the past few days and I've noticed that a lot of stocks make a big move one way or the other, consistently, on earnings news. I'm sure this isn't a new idea but what about buying a call and a put before the earnings news comes out and using fairly tight trailing stops on each to minimize loss on the losing option and maximize profit on the winning option? Have you done this before with any success? It seems like it will work very well as long as you find a stock that consistently moves big one way or the other on earnings. Thoughts?

2. bitrend

bitrend

The earning is one of the biggest forces that propel stock into the sky. The problem is that the well known past and current earnings are meaningless, doesn't include in the equation. Only future or potential earning is meaningful since stock is traded for future. That's why some company report a profit but its stock sinks and inversely another company report a profit and its stock skyrockets.

The thing is how can we predict company's future earning?

3. Another important concept to understand is implied volatility for your 'strategy'. option prices are sensitive to changes in implied volatility. The higher the volatility, the higher the expected range for the stock, therefore the higher the price will be for the option.

It is common knowledge that stocks have more of a tendency to 'gap' during earnings. How does this affect volatility? Naturally it creeps up higher and higher the closer the earnings announcement is.

So, if you bot a call(bullish) the day before earnings and the stock moved in your favor by 5%, you still might lose money on the trade. Why? because the earnings event is over and implied volatility returns down to previous levels decreasing the value of your call options.