E-mini Surfer

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Bob Jackson, Oct 25, 2002.

1. Well, I suppose I should get in on the 'trading journal' thing myself. I have been a self-admittedly bad trader in years past. In late 1999, not knowing what I was doing, I insisted on trying to sell the Nasdaq futures, right in the teeth of the final blow-off phase of the market. Needless to say, my account didn't last long. Trading strategy? Hah! I didn't have one. Needless to say, if you don't know who you are before you start trading, then trading's an expensive way to find out. I found out one thing though - I'm not a quitter. So I decided to go back and read and learn (something I obviously should have done BEFORE beginning to trade).

Last year, I decided to try again, and traded for 2 summer months. The general idea was to trade off a 5-minute chart using MACD crossovers. I also incorporated some general timing ideas I've picked up from Linda Bradford Raschke's postings on her website. I did better this time. With a $15K account, I was up about $2K after about 6 weeks. Then I lost $1K in the course of one July week where the SP-eminis just aren't very trendy...whipsawed to death. So I decided to stop right there with my remaining $1K profit, and have another look at myself, and do some more strategy pondering.

Early this year, I decided to try again. The strategy is basically the same, using some timing rules and the MACD, TRIN and NYSE up/down volume - I like catching bigger momentum trends; I'm not really a 1/2 pt-type scalper. So I've traded most days for the last 8 months, this time with a $30K account. Here's the way it's gone so far (including commissions, etc):

Feb: +668
    Mar: +1
    Apr: -3586
    May: -2118
    June: -1695
    July: -4361
    Aug: +2015
    Sept: +2314
    Oct (to posting date) +4360