E-Mini Dow - any experienced traders out there?

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by Senior Novice, Nov 6, 2010.

1. Hi Fellow Traders,

This is my first post on this forum. I have been reading for a while. I’m not a native English speaker but will try to post here anyway since I like the quality and down to earth approach of many of the traders here.

To start out I will introduce myself. I live in the Netherlands, have a day-job, 39 years old and have been trading the markets in the evening hours (US stock markets open in my timezone at 15:30 my time and are open upto 22:00).

My aim is to become a successful trader and succes is defined by becoming a consistent profitable trader generating a nett income of about USD 3000~3500/month. This in order to be able to quit my job and be able to completely dedicate myself to trading.

I have been trading since 2007 and currently trade with a spare capital of around USD 25.000. Currently have switched back to the e-mini dow jones, since two weeks, were I trade one contract at a time to learn and limit my exposure. I have traded with upto 5 contracts and that was not for me..

I have traded dutch stock market options not too bad but due to my job I don’t have the necessary time to make a proper judgement of the market.

Then I switched totrading US markets in the evening(for me) and traded S&P e-mini , Dow Jones e-mini, Russel E-Mini,Gold en EUR/USD. All of them without any structural success.

The ES I did not like as it seemed to be crowded and could not get a good fill, which forced me to adjust my entries and exit and this screwed up my trading plan. The ER was more risky and I traded it for a long while but in the end I was chopped up by the volatility of it so I left the ER.