e-mini dangers

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by o_2_b_sean, Apr 9, 2002.

1. hello all,

I am interested in getting into e-mini trading in the very near future. I have traded the QQQs some and stocks alot. I am basically a purely technical trader and I understand most of the classical TA principles fairly well. I base most all of my trade descisions on the NDX and COMP movements, cycles, trendlines, etc. However, there is still quite a lot about macro and micro economics that I have yet to learn, business cycles, stock rotation, bond market cycles, and to be honest, many of the principles and quirks of the commodities markets still elude me.

My question is this: what are some of the dangers of index futures trading of which a beginner such as myself might not be cognizant? Having stated above some of my limitations, to what degree am I handicapped?

From what I have read and intuitively understand there are some basic practices of trading the index futures that would help to limit risk:

1) trade during market hours

2) avoid days where major economic policy decisions may be made, such as fed meetings, etc. Especially when the outcome is unknown or multiple outcomes exist...

3) Start with just one or two contracts

So can anyone add to this list?

Sean

2. I forgot to mention something...

To clarify my question: I have heard that the futures move with the market index, except when they don't ;-)

What I am trying to understand here is the "when they don't" part. What events might cause a wild, and unexpected, move in these securities?

3. stevet

stevet

if you are a technical trader - why dont you just follow the futures and learn how they move - it does not matter why they move as much as how they move

once you get a feel for how they move - you may be close to why

for what its worth - the futures on the whole lead the cash, except when the cash does not want to be led

4. Atlantic

Atlantic