Dual Monitors with ATI 8500, etc.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by DisciplinedHedg, Mar 28, 2002.

1. Apologies first. I'm pretty experienced with putting together PC systems, but I've never done a dual monitor before.

I have a few questions...

Using 2 crt Viewsonic Monitors, I'm interested in using the ATI 8500 for dual monitors. Do I need one or two video cards?

I'm assuming its one, please correct me if I'm wrong. And with one, how exactly to you attach the 2 monitor cables because the video cards seem to have only 1 outlet?

Also, I've heard it mentioned that if you don't want to be restricted to "dual monitor" capable video cards, that you could just use any good video card and just use the multiple monitor setting in Windows XP. Does anyone have experience with this?

Thanks in advance.

2. echo

echo

My ATI 8500 has two video ports on the back. They both work fine for me (running two LCD monitors).

3. How do you connect two regular CRT monitors with the ATI Radeon 8500?

As I understand it, there is only one 15-pin VGA connector on the video card.

4. echo

echo

I don't know if OEM versions are different, but my 8500 has one regular VGA connector and one DVI connector. The card comes with a DVI-to-VGA adapter so that you can attach a regular analog monitor to the DVI port.

5. nitro

nitro

If it is a standard VGA connector on the back, the card supports only one monitor.

On the Matrox cards, there is only one connector on the back, but it is a proprietary connector, that, with their cable, can connect to two monitors.

IMHO, getting multiple cards (that each support only one monitor) to do Multi-Monitor setups is a bad idea for three reasons:

1) unless you get a server style machine, the number of PCI slots are limited.

2) The IRQ's are taken up by something else. Today, two cards can share an IRQ, but I have seen problems with this where you have to figure out just which two are happy together.