Dual Core CPU ??

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by gnome, Dec 8, 2005.

1. gnome

gnome

Theoretically, in a multi-tasking environment the computer with a dual core CPU will "somehow" know to direct some of the functions to each core and thus increase overall system performance.

How does the system know to do this? Doesn't seem like it could be the OS... WinXP was around long before dual cores.

The chipset maybe?

What's the likelihood *all* of the tasks get processed by one core while the other lies dormant waiting for something to do?

2. Pretty likely I imagine.

Runningbear

3. Yes, it is the chipset.
    It runs a specific algorithym that sorts data out.

4. To get a handle on how this works you need a little understanding of how operating systems schedule processes/threads. I'm very rusty on this but I'll have a go. My background is UNIX, but the principles will be the same for modern Windows (ie NT onwards). I'll refer to processes here, but you can substitute the word threads more or less interchangeably.

On a single CPU machine only one process can be running at any given time. Call it's state RUNNING. Other processes may be ready to run (RUNNABLE) ie waiting for the CPU or waiting for an I/O event such as arrival of data on a network interface, data from a disk read, input from mouse or keyboard etc (SLEEPING).