Dual booting (?) Windows 95a and Windows 95b

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by y2jasmine, May 8, 2002.

1. y2jasmine

y2jasmine

Hi, I'm new to this dual-booting thing so please bear with me.

I have this sucky computer :p (Pentium 200 MHz, 32 MB Ram) and someone just gave me another computer (200 MHz, 32 MB Ram). One computer has Windows 95a, the other Windows 95b.

Rather than have two towers sitting around my apartment I want to "combine" the hard drives of the two computers (i.e. install them both into one tower). Since I share my computer with fiance, and he and I do different things on the computer, I would like to have a option come up asking me whether I would like to boot Windows 95a or Windows 95b (i.e. dual-boot). One hard drive would then have mostly games and the other would have mostly word processing software (Office, Corel Suite, etc.)

Is this possible? If so...how do I do it? Do I set one as the master and the other as the slave? Will it automatically ask me which one I want to boot up or do I need a program (if I need a program anyone know of a freeware one)?

Thanks a bunch!!! :)

2. What you probably want to do is get a good boot manager. This becomes very tricky. Here's why. The Operating System was installed on each of the hard drives when it was the 'C:" drive. When both drives are in the machine, one of them will be the "D" drive. The OS will not work properly on th e"D" drive because it was installed on the "C" drive.

Boot manager software might be able to swap the hard drives in the BIOS table. This only works on controllers that are on the motherboard. It may not work with ATA66, 100 or 133 controllers.