DT Futures

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by sasha1, Feb 1, 2002.

1. sasha1

sasha1

I am new to futures trading. Can anybody share their experience with this firm? Their commissions and order entry platform seem alright.

2. looks like one of those crappy browser based order entry firms...avoid.

3. sasha1

sasha1

looks java based to me.

4. sasha1

sasha1

How (un)reliable is Interactive Brokers for trading futures?

5. tymjr

tymjr

sasha: “Can anybody share their experience with this firm?”

I have an account with DT that I use for offsets. I’ve only had to use it a few times so I can’t comment on the long-term reliability of the software but I wasn’t overly impressed with its order entry.

“How (un)reliable is Interactive Brokers for trading futures?”

I’ve had very negative experiences with IB. I went into detail in the post below:

http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&postid=25693#post25693

6. tymjr

Other than the one bad day IB had when their system went
    down, has there been any other problems you had with IB?

7. One More Thing

Is there anyone out there who wants to stand up for IB when
    it comes to using them for trading NQ/ES?

:confused:

8. huby

huby

I trade the NQ exclusively on IB everyday and am very happy. Instant executions and super cheap commissions. ($4.80 roundtrip). I used to trade only stocks with IB before the new margin rules, and the executions seem to be just as good with futures vs stocks.

As far as reliability goes; I'd give them a 9 out of 10. When TWS is up and running it's perfect, but every once in a while the screen will go purple and everything freezes up. It reboots itself within a few seconds generally. It's kind of a pain but considering all the other benefits I'm not complaining.