Dry Feet

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Typhoon, Jun 21, 2005.

1. Typhoon

Typhoon

I read the books and researched the web. This is my first attempt into trading. I'll be starting out with $ 20,000.00. I am familiar with long term investing and hold a handful of bluechips. Im primarily interested in familiar stocks companies. I'm looking to trade on a weekly and monthly basis. I'll be using scottrade. If any has any suggestions on research or any stock advice-i aprreciate it.

Thanks for the forum and community.

2. if you lost the $20 K would that mess up your financial goals ?

what % of risk can you handle ?

you might be best to trade small and diversify
    in diferent ETF's or sectors
    as opposed to betting it all on red or black

good luck

IBD sometimes has good reading for leading sectors and stocks

3. Typhoon

Typhoon

Seth,
    I can risk the whole amount without affecting my current financial position-the money has been saved for this purpose outside my other committments. I got my cue for this amount from Dr. Elders book-come into my trading room. I plan to put stops on my stock purchases to safeguard my capital. Thanks for the advice on IBD. Do you think Im on the right track with my plan? I'm assuming that you are an experienced trader-how was your first steps trading?

Thanks.