dropping the bomb

Discussion in 'Trading' started by sporky, Aug 11, 2007.

1. sporky

sporky

let me go ahead and put it out there, risk/reward ratios are a fallacy. yes? no?

since i'm new around here I probably should say I've been trading futures over a period of almost 20 years. i've made and lost my fair share. so I am not a newbie.

many say don't take a trade with less than 3:1 and certainly not less than 2:1. whatever...pick your own numbers.

now, a basic tenet for any trader should be "anything can happen" (and it usually does, lol). if that's the case how can one realistically measure risk/reward?

as a day trader, the way i've been doing it is with support/resistance and fib levels. but again, anything can happen and usually does. so, I often think i'm kidding myself when measuring risk/reward.

in other words, we can know what we are willing to risk, but there is no way to really know what the potential reward is since ANYTHING CAN HAPPEN.

what say u?

2. Dustin

Dustin

The measure of risk/reward comes with experience. If you are a new trader (not you personally) then you obviously have no idea what the realistic reward is. Risk is defined by your stops so that part is easy.

For example, in one of my favorite continuation setups I know that once the stock breaks it will likely go at least 1/3rd to 1/2 of the earlier move that day. I know this from reviewing hundreds of past trades.

An example...if it drops $3 in the first hour of trading, then it will likely go $1-1.5 on a further breakdown. As long as I hold until that goal is met then I am happy with the trade. If it keeps going lower I don't care because my objective was met and I stuck with the plan.