Down nearly 25% on the year... documenting every trade until I'm back to even.

Discussion in 'Journals' started by upandcomer, May 19, 2011.

1. Hey all,

I've been trading stocks for a few years now and in February I started trading options. I don't believe in paper trading and believe the best way to learn about anything in the market is through using real money. As a result, I've learned a lot recently, but I'm down nearly 25% on the year.

The purpose of this journal is to document my journey back to an even P&L on the year. I plan to do this by limiting options trades, which I have been using exclusively for the past 3 months, and going back to what has worked for me (trading/swing trading stocks & ETF's).

2. Holding overnight, stopped out when 60min candle closes above trendline.

Also, commissions are $1.00 per 100 shares.

[​IMG]

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

3. I'm still short heading into Monday.

If spy gaps lower tomorrow morning by anything more than .5%, I will cover half of my position.

I have been working on letting my winners run however, so lets see where this week takes us.

4. I covered all 38 shares at 38.61.

Last night I said I would cover half of the shares if spy gapped down over .5%. I did not do this because spy opened below its daily trendline-support. I then figured spy would trade lower to test the 100sma on the daily chart. I left for my 9 o'clock class and set a buy order for all 38 @ 121.61 (just above the 100sma). I decided to cover all shares because the market, if it reached my 131.61 target, would be way over extended.

pictured below are the daily charts showing this trade; the chart on the left is from last thursday when I put the trade on and the chart on the right is today.

[​IMG]

5. Forgot to add:
    Starting capital = $2670
    Spy short trade = +$113
    Current capital = $2780
    Goal.... $3500

+4.1% account gain on trade and since start of journal.