Doug's Little Stocks

Discussion in 'Journals' started by dougcs, Aug 23, 2003.

1. Hello,

I've enjoyed reading Journals and thought I would post one for a while.

A very short background, I've been trading for the past 8 years and derive most of my income from it. I got started because after 25 years of working, they decided to eliminate my department (Chemical Engineering). Rather than start out with a new company, I took my "bronze" parachute and my interest in stocks and gave trading a go. Luckily, I did very well, actually too well, at first. But at least I got off to a good start but the early success gave me some bad habits.

I've until recently traded in options and IShares.

Early this year, I did not like the trend in my results, making money got harder, spreads got wider, and getting fills became very difficult. So, I decided to try an idea that had been kicking around in the back of my head for a couple of years.

Simply put, the idea was rather than pick what I wanted to trade and find a method that was profitable, I wanted to see if the opposite would work. I picked a fairly simple entry pattern and added 7 exits and called it a system. I then started screening it against stocks that I selected in various ways. No particular screen seemed to be better than another, so I started to look at all stocks not in the SP500 index, trading above $5/share and trading at least 250k shares per day. A long list and it took months to screen it.

The good news was I found many stocks that showed profitability using my method. By May I was trading over 100 stocks and sometimes had positions in 60. This was just too much to keep track of. I whittled the list down to 60 recently and am now out of the developmental phase and into more or less routine trading.

So, I'll start by posting this past week's results:

NOTE: I will not disclose the stocks I trade as they are the key to the system.

Week of 8/18/2003

Monday:
    11 wins 8 losses, Lost $580

Tuesday: