Dollar-Index in TWS ?? PREM ??

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by d9d, Jun 10, 2005.

1. d9d

d9d

sigh....

As much as I like IB as a broker, I am getting soooo tired of absolutely STUPID responses from customer "service".

All I want to do is add the USD index on a TWS data line; so that I can glance at it throughout the day.

But I can't find the symbol for it.

So I write to "help@IB"....

Answer: We don't provide it.

2nd query: How can that be? It's a VERY commonly watched index. Surely you carry it.

Answer: We can't provide it because we don't handle all the currencies that make it up; so you aren't able to trade it.

3rd query: Look, I don't want to -trade- the silly thing...I just want to -watch- it...you know, like the Dow....

Answer: nothing intelligible or useful.... :p

WTF ???

They provide a dozen other non-tradeable indexes like INDU, NDX, etc....why not the USD index ??

I keep thinking that they've gotta carry it; but that I just happened to get a particularly clueless help-person who doesn't even know what index I'm talking about.

Even if they really don't carry it (weird), the -reason- given is just plain dumb.

Could someone be kind enough to post the exact symbol to be entered in TWS ?

Also, what exact symbol is used in TWS for PREM ?? I can't seem to find that one in the symbol-guide either.

Many thanks! :)

2. Steve_IB

Steve_IB Interactive Brokers

Dollar Index is distributed by the NYBOT which we don't have a connection to.

PREM, I don't believe we have this. You could use the Arbitrage Meter which will show a similar thing (check the website/user guide for details). However, you can't chart it.

3. d9d

d9d

Thanks for your reply Steve.

A useful, and SENSIBLE, answer... :p

I have had a really frustrating string of interactions with "help" in the past few months....the quality and/or training of the "first level" reps seems pretty poor... :(

And nobody seems at all interested in ever FIXING anything.