Does this offer seem legit?

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by Locke, May 29, 2008.

1. Locke

Locke

Hey everyone,

I'm an undergraduate student moving onto my junior year, and a small prop firm called Highland Stone Capital is offering a job as a junior currency trader for the summer with no experience required. They say I get 80/20 split (80% to me) with no fee to cover computer/software expenses. In addition, they'll teach me the ropes for about a month before letting me on my own, and even then, the senior trader will cap my daily losses so I can't wash out on the first day.

The catch is, I have to pay $5000, in which $3500 goes in as insurance/risk coverage for the company, while 1500 goes to paying for a two-day, 10-6:00 training course.

I've never applied to a prop firm before, so I'm not sure if paying for training is reasonable or a red flag. What do you guys think regarding the legitimacy of the offer? Thanks a lot for any of your help!

-Locke

2. If you have to pay $1500 for a 2 day "training" course, then it's a scam.

You can't learn how to trade fx in 2 days, at least not profitably.

The whole thing sounds suspicious as hell.

3. Just ask them how long until you can withdraw your $3500. Are they going to hold it for a year? DON'T do it if the answer is a year. You may find fx is not for you and you can't move money elsewhere.

4. No, they're not offering you a 'job' at all... You'd be their client, not their employee. If they had the audacity to call this a "job", run the other way! Only the shadiest of firms would try that trick.

Secondly, forex is by far the worst trading instrument of all.
    You won't meet many people who can make a consistent living trading forex. Hell, I've been a professional trader for 12 years, and I've never met <b>even one</b> such individual in all that time.