Does the Year for Silver and Gold American Eagles Matter?

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by DrPepper, Nov 20, 2009.

1. When I have purchased rolls of Silver American Eagles in the past, the coin dealer gave me rolls from the 80's and 90's. He said that coins from the current year were in higher demand and sold at a premium. I kind of felt like he was getting rid of some old rolls that no one else wanted. Since no one spends silver coins, I was also a little surprised that they were in unsealed rolls that he would open and handle. It seems like uncirculated coins would be more valuable. Does it matter what year Silver and Gold American Eagles are from and whether they are uncirculated or not?

2. sammybea

sammybea

Hi DrPepper, I am not an expert in the field, but from my understanding there is almost no difference in the value of uncirculated vs circulated "handled" coins unless there is visible wear or damage of the actual coin.

The real difference is b/w proofs and uncirculated which goes through a different minting process all together.

And yes there is a premium on current year coins, but we are talking about pennies on the dollar. Coin dealers obviously will exploit that into a larger spread which is not the true market difference.

I normally buy all my coins through Bullion Direct.. But there are obviously a million coin dealers. I would suggest you at least fool around with their site to get an idea of the price differences.