Does everyone have a degree?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Kastro_316, May 21, 2004.

1. Hey guys...

I was just wondering if everyone here has a degree? Are there any without?

im 19, and im just done my first year of my degree, and was thinking today, why do i need this? Spend another 4 years of my life at school, only to start something that does not require a degree?

I dunno, im just being stupid today:p

2. izeickl

izeickl

I got a degree in computer science as it was what I wanted to do for many years, then after working for few years at crap company made me really question if I could see myself sitting in a office 9-5 earning a regular wage and living the rat race till I die. I couldnt.

However, its nice to know that I have skills and credentials to back it up if ever the need arises. Im 25 now, wish I had started trading back in uni, but oh well. I would not have quit uni tho, just would have been nice to have had the foresight to learn trading along side it.

3. LouDogg

LouDogg

Besides the facts that you make more money when you have a degree and that 95%+ traders fail (implying that you will have to get a job), college is the best place to really learn about yourself and others. I spent eight years in school, earning two degrees while having to work at a crap job full time. That time that I put in really drove me to become much more disciplined as a trader. I learned quickly that I did not want to work for others. The problem was that I was not ready to become a trader yet. I needed an education to help inform me of all the different ways to view the world. Essentially, the basics of critical thought.

Now, while I am sure there are traders out there who have done fine without an education, I would think they have had a harder time in general. Also, I would think that they are more susceptible to blowing out quicker.

Anyway, everybody knows the best place to meets girls is at college.