Does anyone use yahoo to import data into ninja trader?

Discussion in 'Data Sets and Feeds' started by allen101, Jun 17, 2009.

1. allen101

allen101

Hi,
    I'm having trouble figuring out how to import end-of-day data from yahoo finance into Ninja Trader for back testing purposes...I've read the help files in the Ninja Trader doc and it only provides the data format for importing and not "how to do so". Can anyone help me out? I'm an entry level C# developer and new to using Ninja Trader (2 days). I don't want anyone to write the code for me because I'm trying to "learn" but I would like to be pointed in the right direction as far as how to go about doing this in an automated fashion with C#/ninjascript. Thanks!!!

2. wenzi

wenzi

Set Yahoo! up as one of your connections. NinjaTrader will import the data for you.

3. allen101

allen101

from my understanding thats only intra day data that accumulates during the day which then creates historical data from that point on as long as i'm running a chart and/or market analyzer for the underlying. i want to down existing historical end-of-day data e.g. (6/17/1950 - 6/17/2009) for the SP500...maybe i'm misunderstanding how this works, if so would please clarify how this works?

4. Big AAPL

Big AAPL

Yahoo data is EOD only and you are limited to the amount of data that Yahoo supplies.

5. allen101

allen101