Does Anyone Use Trend Lines To Signal Exit Points? And Can they be automated?

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by achilles28, Nov 1, 2005.

1. achilles28

achilles28

Hey Everyone,

Ive just awoken to the utility of using trend lines as variable exit signals, as opposed to relying on strictly on candle formations.

Assuming one can accurately identify a trend, it appears violation of a trendline by a certain price threshold captures more of the move and leaves less on the table compared to other variable exit strategies.

Building on this concept, trend lines could be 'tightened' a bit after trade onset; after two seperate instances of trend test followed by confirmation, the trend line could be redrawn - usually at a steeper angle - thus preserving more profits in the event of a sharp pullback/reversal.

This seems really good at first look. Anyone else using this method to determine stops?

And can this be automated relativily easily? Im a novice programmer and still learning to trade in WEalthlab.

What should I be looking for or aware of?

Thanks ;)

2. What time frame are you looking at for your trendlines?

3. This is very interesting. I just started a recent thread that discusses a very similiar concept.
    Are you trading futures or stocks?

http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=57912

4. achilles28

achilles28

Depending upon market 'trendiness' at entry, I'll use the 2hr or 4hr for trendlines.

5. achilles28

achilles28

Cool. Thanks for the link.

I trade forex.

After combing the site for possible clues regarding trendline exit signals, it seems resident guru Grob/Hershey scorns trendline exit takers as 'morons' (right side only! ;). But its a step in the right direction nevertheless.

After reviewing your thread, there are some good ideas. I also noticed some allowance has to be given to accomodate the natural pullback tendancy after a strong trend is underway.

Do you follow grobs work? If so, what are your thoughts?