Does anyone use this setup?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by neo_hr, Oct 30, 2001.

1. neo_hr

neo_hr

Hi!

Theres this setup I read about on The Street.com from Ken Wolf so I was just wondering if anyone tried it .

Find the days biggest winners/losers by the end of the day and jump along in the last couple of minutes in hope for another mornings gap in your direction? There are some conditions to be met, but I cant find it anymore... I thik it had to do with wolume, overall market and news driving the momentum.

THX all!
    Alex

2. Its called the overnite system and has been around for more than 12 years....I know because I've been trading it for 11 years. He didn't invent it.

3. neo_hr

neo_hr

Yes but thats not what I meant , Actually I would like to know where to learn about it, whats your experience with it, how did you fine tune it etc...Course, I know it is a lot to ask someone.

Its just that I noticed that it works in some occasions but in the others it will kill you. For ex. a stock is in some kind of a sluggish uptrend or a consolidation and on a day like this it gaps down like 2 or 3 points (daily range preety the same) and sells of for another 3 or 4.

Would that fit into this category or is it too extreme? So my question is what situations have the best odds of "doing" what they should, a continuous downtrend or extreme such as the one above?

Cheers

4. Vishnu

Vishnu

System: if stock is up 10%, buy at close and sell at market the next morning.

I ran the system on a basket containing all Nasd 100 stocks. Time frame started one year ago today up until today. I started with $100K and allocated $5K per trade .

Result:
    Winning trades: 36%
    Losing trades: 64%

Starting capital: $100K
    Ending capital: $75K

I made some variation to see if results would improve:
    a. Sell at close the next day
    b. wait for profit target or stop to get hit

Nothing worked.