Do you own a nice watch?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by turkeyneck, May 30, 2011.

1. Eight

Eight

Watches play a different role nowadays. People can more accurately get the time from their cellphone but it's great to get the time nearly instantly when one is hurrying around with just a quick look at the wrist watch-accessory... Watches don't cost that much and can be very, very stylish... I've been looking at the "high tech" styled watch lines, Android, La Costa, Nooka... I was a high tech worker for decades, high tech is natural on me...

When I go out I like to feel like I'm good to go, well prepared for things.. I have my droid phone, a drop phone for hooking up with people, a wrist watch accessory that sets me apart from the crowd.. I don't really want to look like some assclown flashing his $ around, that's not real bright on a few levels.. it won't bring me what I want...

2. Sounds like a playa. Ballers love droid phones and watches, you da man

3. Nice article, bros. too bad its from 2005!

Yeah, watches are truly the tribal totems of our time.

See a guy with a Rolex President--- most think 1980's car salesman--- the era of the texas timex (rolex) is long gone.

Now, names like Richard Mille, Roger Dubuis, Patek, and a host of smaller names are where it is in watches. Bling is out, stealth wealth is in, in a big way. Most will not even know that your new Richard Mille cost 75k, and thats a good thing. Only those in the know will know what you have and thats the point. Who cares what the masses think, everything has become personalized for smaller and smaller groups--and prices have ramped up dramatically since that article was published, watches included.
    There is a fine line between stealth wealth symbols and idiot bling.

enjoy,

surf