Do you need Diversification? or Stoploss is enough?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by qll, Dec 7, 2006.

1. qll

qll

Diversification is an investment term, mainly used to reduce risks. I am using it all the time in my portfolios. However, after I studied Larry Williams trade log and Fairy's diary, I found day traders don't use it at all. This makes sense:

1 they need to focus on one subject or at most two
    2 with stop loss, who needs diversification to reduce risks?

the reason i ask this is that i found a way to increase drawdowns per position by using diversification, so i can accept 10% lose per day, although one position lost 30% and the other gained 20%. As I shorted Cu and Longed Al, or longed corn and shorted soymeal. So I can use 100% of all of my margins without fearing a SUDDEN BIG market move to the direction againt me.

And I don't use stops in those trades, because in fact I welcome big moves in either direction.

2. Besides monitoring your "portfolio" on an overall basis, you should want to do the same on a trade-by-trade basis. That way, you can weed out that 30% loser at a smaller level.

3. +1, both are required. It comes down to a managing capacity.

Akuma

4. I always like to have more than one position going at the same time. For entertainment reasons as well as diversification.

5. bighog

bighog Guest

Intraday trading is nothing different than swing or position trading. When a person daytrades and looks at a chart he/she is looking for the same setups, support/resist, etc. A MAJOR (and i mean BIG) advantage a daytrader has over a position trader is trading off the open. When a position trade is already open and one is playing off the daily charts to manage said position the opening is basically going to do one of 2 things, it will go higher or lower and if a STOP or profit objective is not hit the opening is them mox-nix. Just another day of watching the position.