Do you day trade, swing trade or position trade forex?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by nwoptions, Aug 15, 2020.

1. Hi guys, most of the trading strategies I've read on the internet are day trading strategies (eg the Cowabunga System and the 3 Ducks system from BabyPips).

I don't want to wake up at 12am to trade the EUR/USD or GBP/USD.

Do you day trade, swing trade, or position trade currencies?

Also, what attracted you to your trading time frame? eg work schedule, no overnight risk, etc?

Thanks

2. expiated

expiated

Interesting...since it seems to me that most of the traders who appear to know what they're doing are either swing traders or position traders. Personally, I'm an intraday trader because I don't have enough money to weather significant drawdowns or to eat the kind of losses one is going to suffer when there is a reversal in the trend, which is guaranteed to occur.

However, if I were a swing trader, I would probably simply enter positions in the direction of the day-to-day trend, in which case, I might have been long GBPJPY since July 29th (for example); or if I were a position trader, I might have been long GBPJPY since July 3rd or perhaps even July 1st, using two or three carefully selected baseline moving averages to decide when to enter and when to exit given positions...

swing_position_trades.png

3. Tradex

Tradex

Personally I day-trade the Forex, and now the ZN (the very liquid 10-year notes) and the e-mini S&P 500.

Here is the "secret" : if your trading system is profitable and robust, your OPTIMAL move is to trade it often, and day-trading accomplishes that goal!

Why?

To make even more money, simple as that.

Give day-traders, swing traders and long term traders the same capital and the same trading system (assuming the strategy works on every time frame) and day-traders will ALWAYS make more (much more) money at the end of the year.

easymon1 and nwoptions like this.
  4. Tradex

Tradex