Do Traders have a high alcoholic Rate?

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by jsmooth, Sep 10, 2005.

1. jsmooth

jsmooth

I was in Chicago last week chatting with a floor trader from the CBOT and he said the Bar next to the CBOT was the busiest bar in all of downtown chicago (they service the most hard liquor and beer in the city). and he said it's not unusual to see traders drinking at 9-10am. I also went to a private baptist college in the south and they encouraged finance majors to not go into trading/market maker careers because they claimed it to be too stressful and they said there was a high risk of alcoholism....then i thought about it, and my drinking habits have really picked up after i started trading full time. Seems like i always need an extra dry martini at 3:05 pm to calm me down from the stress and excitment of the trading day. And all day i constantly think about making money. But despite all of this, this is truely the greatest job someone could have.

"i trade stocks because it gives me a reason to say 'SHIT' every few hours; without that, life would just be boring"

2. logikos

logikos

Don't blame the trading for your drinking. Talk to various people working in traditional white collar jobs as an employee and you will see stress too. Companies stretching their employees to the max.

I trade full time and don't drink at all. I used to drink all the time before I became a trader. Drinking may calm your nerves for a time, but slows your mind down and you feel like crap the next day. Since you feel like crap, you trade poorer than usual which raises your stress level again. You drink again, and the full cycle completes.

In my office I have a treadmill. I get on it every other day and run for an hour. You wouldn't believe how much better it is in relieving stress than a vodka. Plus it keeps you looking good as you grow older.

3. mcurto

mcurto