Do they round up strike prices?

Discussion in 'Options' started by l3randonf, Jul 23, 2010.

1. If I have a 500-510 oex credit spread and oex finishes at 499.99... will this count against me? Will they call it 500?

Also... does 500 really count against me anyway?

2. Do the math. If you sold at 500 you could be exercised against though it would cost you nothing. The problem is that the market might move against you and that could cost. But that could happen at 499.99.

3. Well if the market closes on expiration date of the option, then I don't see how I would lose anything at 499.99

Please explain if I am wrong. I'm still very new to this.

4. MTE

MTE

No, they don't round up, and since OEX is cash-settled you don't lose anything.

5. thank you.

Can you explain a scenario, regarding an option that isnt cash settled, that would cause you to lose money even if the option closed on expiry OTM?

Also, how do you know which are cash settled and how/where can I find out if other symbols like AAPL, GOOG, etc are also cash settled?

6. MTE

MTE

In general, to find out whether an option has cash or physical settlement you need to look up contract specifications on the exchange's website. However, you obviously don't need to do that for each and every underlying/option.

With that said, all index options (not options on futures, but on cash indices such as SPX, OEX, NDX, RUT, etc) are cash-settled, as you obviously cannot deliver all 500 or whatever stocks that make up the index. On the other hand, all options on stocks and ETFs are physically-settled.