DO STOPS WORK WELL AT IB?

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by ddefina, Aug 14, 2001.

1. ddefina

ddefina

I'm a swing trader and stops are how I enter and exit 100% of my trades. I plan on giving IB a try but hear that the stops aren't reliable. Is this just 1% of the time or all the time? I trade exclusively Nasdaq stocks. Any feedback is appreciated...Thanks David D.

2. ktm

ktm

Today they were 100% bad for me. I posted the same question on another thread. Def should be around in a few hours when the Asian markets open. I only had one stop hit today so that's all I have to look at. I'm not sure if it's a routing problem or if I did something wrong but it was behaving strangely. The bottom line was that it took 3 minutes to go live after the stock ran past my stop. My first day trading at IB and I got some serious slippage.

I'm not sure if stops are that popular with the folks here but they will be a big deal for me.

3. def

def Sponsor

there was a tread on stops a while back and i was under the impression that everything was resolved. NASDAQ stops at IB are triggered on the bids or offers and thus you need to understand how they trigger to use them effectively.

you can try this link:
    http://www.interactivebrokers.com/html/companyInfo/stop_ord.html

4. ktm

ktm

From the IB website on stop orders...from Def's earlier post:

4. In regards to NASD stocks, in the case of buy stops IB will elect stop orders only after we see a bid at the stop price and subsequently confirm a second bid. Only after we confirm a second bid will we send in the order. Likewise, in the case of sell stops IB will elect stop orders only after we see an offer at the stop price and subsequently confirm a second offer. Only after we confirm a second offer will we send the order.

I had not read this...my own fault because I assumed...